Getting jammy as a #MorrisonsMum

Pentax Digital Camera

Some people thought I was  a jammy so and so when I was one of the few (hundred) chosen by BritMums to become a Morrisons Mum .. and to be honest I was pretty chuffed myself !! I hardly ever shop at Morrisons in Derby as it’s on the other side of town to me  so for convenience I tend to use other stores , so the prospect of having to go shopping at Morrisons was actually quite exciting !!! My friend tagged along too and we had a mini morning trip out to Morrisons ready for the bank holiday  🙂

I loved it as soon as I arrived … easy parking , plenty of trollies  , the fun of the revolving doors .. I was like a kid in a sweet shop !! Then to be greeted by piles and piles of the freshest vegetables and fruits .. now that was quite something !! Vegetables I had only read about in books were right there in front of me , purple peppers , white aubergines … it was like the vegetable world had gone a bit doolally whilst I’d been stuck in my shopping rut !! That was it , I was hooked …!!

Market street was a joy … fresh pastries , pizza’s , cooked chickens , cheesemonger , deli counter , butcher … I actually was in shoppers heaven !! However , the sensible Mum in me had gone to the trouble of making a list and so I thought I better honour my organisational skills and buy what was on the list …  I managed to buy everything I had on my list plus a few other naughty bits like black pudding , white pudding ( not had this in years and years and years .. . my cup of joy runneth over ….) , freshly baked sausage rolls , fresh donuts …  so I wasn’t that strict with my list !!

My shopping bill came to £86.49 … but I was fully expecting it to be so much more … my trolley was bursting at it’s iron grills … that amount of shopping would usually cost me well over £100 … So imagine the massive grin that spread across my face !! I was amazed!!! Great value , great produce and an enviable freshness that others should well take heed of ….

Now with it almost being summer and the picnic season lurking around the corner I decided to use some of my haul to make  some chutneys to bring out with a flourish as we tuck into our basket of fresh bread and cheese … so I made a caramelised red onion chutney & a tomato & chilli jam (The Firecracker) !! I made 4 jars of each … which meant that per jar the cost of each was : 80p 

Here are the recipes ….

Caramelised Red Onion Chutney

  • 8 red onions
  • 1 red chilli
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 25ml olive oil
  • 200g brown sugar
  • 100ml balsamic vinegar
  • 100ml red wine vinegar
  1. Cut your onions and chilli into short, thin slices and put them into a pan with the bay leaves and oil. Cook gently over a low heat for about 20 minutes. The onion should be transparent ( Like hot dog onions 🙂 ! ) not burnt/crispy !!
  2. Once the onions are dark and sticky, add the sugar and the vinegars and simmer for 30 minutes or so, until the chutney is thick and dark. remove the bay leaves.
  3. Pour the chutney into hot, sterilised jars and let it cool. Ideally, you should leave it for a month or more before you eat it, to mature in flavour. We love to have this on crackers & cheese !! Also amazing with cold meat and salad ! And of course with cheeses ….  Make double so you won’t be stressed at Christmas !!! ( Think fast … thinking ahead …) 

Pentax Digital Camera

 

Tomato & Chilli Jam – The Firecracker 

  • 2 red onions, finely chopped

  • 400g ripe cherry tomatoes, halved

  • 400g ripe plum tomatoes, quartered

  • 3 large mild red chillies, deseeded, finely chopped

  • 5cm/2in piece fresh root ginger, grated

  • 1 star anise

  • 250ml white wine vinegar

  • 300g light brown sugar
  • 1.Sterilise the jars. Wash in very hot water or on the hot cycle of a dishwasher. Preheat the oven to 160C/325F/Gas 3. Place the jars upside down on a baking tray and dry in the oven for 10-15 minutes.
  • 2,Heat the red onion and chopped tomatoes in a large heavy-based saucepan over a low heat for about 20 minutes.
  • 3.Add the chillies, ginger, star anise, vinegar and sugar. Bring the mixture to the boil and let it boil(rolling boil) for about 15-20 minutes  or until very thick and you can draw a wooden spoon across the base of the pan so that it leaves a channel behind it that does not immediately fill with liquid.
  • 4.Then fill the sterilised jars with your jammy goodness . Eat this within 6 weeks of making it … particularly good with a good strong cheese and pickled onions !!!!! 

 

Pentax Digital Camera

 Both are now sat maturing in my fridge … Now we just need the rain to stop so we can get out there and enjoy the fruits of our labour ….. Thanks Morrisons !! We will definitely be heading back next payday … I think Morrisons has just become our new “good” habit  !!! Fabulous ….

Pentax Digital Camera

 

**I was provided with £80 worth of Morrisons vouchers . All views & opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

