INSET days are sent to try us ….

Pentax Digital Camera

I had totally forgotten that the twins had an INSET day last Friday … so there I was clocking up the overtime at work planning out my Friday overtime and quietly planning how much of Christmas said overtime would pay for … when I got a text from school … Gleefully reminding me that the kids were off …*PUFF** thats my overtime bonus that is  ..puffing its way out the door …. !!! Hay ho …

So instead I wondered about  what to do with the boys ….Unfortunately the weather was pretty dire so we instead decided on a day of films , housework and Dr Who !! So after a leisurely morning watching  Harry Potter , the boys ( who love housework… strange children!!) helped me to hoover and polish and sweep and wash … and before we knew it , it was time for  a tea break and a few episodes of Dr Who ( The Tenth Doctor .. for reference !! 🙂 !! )…

I promised the boys they could make pizza for tea … so whilst they immersed themselves in Daleks and Cybermen , I toddled off to the kitchen to make pizza dough . the boys then came and rolled out the dough and topped it .. quite liberally in ham & cheese … They love to help out and they love to cook ! F more than T .. who has a tendency to get bored and wander off halfway through anything .. ready to start a new challenge ! Always busy …

Pentax Digital CameraPentax Digital Camera

 

By the time B got in from school and C got home from work  , the twins and I were exhausted !!! The dog was fed up of us being in his front room all day and I was one happy, contented  little Mummy ( If a little stressy … but thats normal !!) So I didn’t really mind the INSET day .. and certainly didn’t mind missing my overtime ( though undeniably the extra cash would have been fab) … What I did get in return was a day with my boys … a day of us being us .. just doing “stuff” together … PERFECT !!!

Here’s the recipe used for our pizza dough ….

  • 300g strong bread flour
  • 1 tsp instant yeast (from a sachet or a tub)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil, plus extra for drizzling

Put the flour into a large bowl, then stir in the yeast and salt. Make a well, pour in 200ml warm water and the olive oil and bring together with your hands ( Yeah it’s messy!!)  until you have a soft, fairly wet dough.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 10 mins until smooth. Cover with a tea towel and set aside. Leave in a warm place for 30 mins to prove.

Now, roll it out and top with your tomato passata/puree ( whichever takes your fancy ) … how about a BBQ sauce instead ( My personal fave from my days working at “The Hut” … then top with whatever toppings you like ! The boys chose cheese and ham .. but let your imagination run wild !! YUM.

Bake at 220 degrees for approx 10 minutes … Now EAT !

Pentax Digital CameraPentax Digital Camera

 

4 responses to “INSET days are sent to try us ….

  1. Pingback: INSET days are sent to try us …. | A Wannabe Foodie

  2. What a strange time to have INSET – we’ve always had them at the start or end of term where possible to tack it on to the hols and make it easier all round! 🙂 Glad you had a nice day tho!

  3. Those pizzas look ace, The Boy is desperate to make one and I keep backing out of it because the last time I tried to make pizza dough I mucked it up magnificently. And if it helps? INSET days are sent to try teachers too (especially this part-time working one who has to work an extra day)

    Nipping over from the blogsRus share thread.

Leave a Reply

